WhatsApp starts rolling ‘Two-step verification’ feature, Adds more security for users

WhatsApp two-step verification is now available for all 1.2 billion users across Android, iOS and Windows platform.

  1. Techook
  2. News
  3. WhatsApp starts rolling ‘Two-step verification’ feature, Adds more security for users

Highlights

    • WhatsApp two-step verification now available.
    • It is an optional feature that adds security.
    • Earlier it was available in beta version.

After several months of testing, WhatsApp has finally rolled out its two-step verification feature. The company has started to roll out the feature for all the 1.2 billion users across iOS, Android and Windows platform.

This is an optional feature that adds more security to the user’s account. To enable the two-step verification on your phone, you need to log in to WhatsApp, select the three dot on the top near the select contact option, navigate to Settings>Account>Two-step verification.

whatsapp-two-step-verification

The feature once enabled, you will be asked to enter a 6-digit passcode and once it is confirmed, WhatsApp will ask to register an email address in case you forget the code or want to turn off the two-step verification later. After its activation, you will be asked to enter the security code every seven days.

If you don’t register an email address with WhatsApp you will still be able to log back into the service even if you forget the two-step verification code, but only after seven days of last using the WhatsApp.

“We do not verify this email address to confirm its accuracy. We highly recommend you provide an accurate email address so that you’re not locked out of your account if you forget your passcode,” WhatsApp said.

It further added, “After seven days, your number will be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp without your passcode, but you will lose all pending messages upon reverifying – they will be deleted. If your number is reverified on WhatsApp after 30 days of last using WhatsApp, and without your passcode, your account will be deleted and a new one will be created upon successfully reverifying.”

The Facebook owned-company started testing the two-step verification feature in beta version back in November last year.