WhatsApp may let you delete messages for everyone even after an hour

But why delete after a person has read the message?

  1. Techook
  2. News
  3. WhatsApp may let you delete messages for everyone even after an hour

Since the introduction of the ‘Delete for everyone’ feature back in November, most of us have already seen the infamous “This message was deleted” written in our chats. This feature was ideally meant for people who made a mistake in the message or sent it to the wrong group. However, the only problem that people would have was the time limit of 420 seconds (7 minutes) to delete the message, or else it would stay for good. Sometimes people just type a message and then press the home button noticing it after the time limit is over. Then the message is stuck there forever.

To address the time limit problem, WhatsApp in its latest beta (v2.18.69) has increased it to 68 minutes and 16 seconds. This new change in the time limit was first spotted and reported by WABetaInfo. If the feature is received well in the beta tester community, we may soon see it making its way onto the stable build of the app.

Also Read: WhatsApp latest update for iOS brings time and location stickers

Additionally, according to the report, this new version of the app brings an update to the Stickers feature icon that is currently disabled. The version 2.18.68 was reportedly released on Friday, since then the company has released two more beta versions, the latest of which is v.2.18.71. In the latest beta versions of the app, a slew of new features have been spotted. These features include Locked Recording, new sticker pack size display and much more. Hopefully, all these features will make it to the final build soon.