Google might delete your Android backup if not used for two months

If you don't use your Android device for two months your data might vanish without any warning

  1. Techook
  2. News
  3. Google might delete your Android backup if not used for two months

Highlights

    • Google Drive can’t recover data once deleted
    • Android users can backup their apps and settings data
    • Google as per a report doesn’t inform its users when it is deleting data

If you keep switching between mobile ecosystems, you might soon lose all your data. A new report suggests that Google will delete your Android backup from Google Drive if you don’t use an Android device for a period of two months. The report also says that the company does not inform the user while doing so.

This was first noticed by a Reddit user  Tanglebrook, he said that the company removed his Android backup when he didn’t use his Android smartphone for two months, he also said that the company didn’t proactively inform him before this was done. He then tried to call up Google Drive support who denied to recover the backup saying that after a delete is made it cannot be recovered even if the user is a paid one.

Asus Zenfone 4 Selfie Pro

“There was no warning from Google. They just deleted my data. There’s apparently an expiration date that shows up under the backup if I had checked the Backup folder sooner, but there was no notification, no email, no proactive notice at all, and most importantly, no option to use the 100gb of my Drive storage to keep my backup,”
Tanglebrook said in his post on Reddit.

Also Read: Google Pixel 2, Pixel XL 2 to launch on October 4, suggests billboard

Google has been providing the backup service for some time now and after Android 6.0 Marshmallow it started to provide to backup the device on Google Drive, however, you have to keep in mind your backup expiration day so that you are not caught blindsided.